The Westmead Hospital Department of Anaesthesia is part of the Discipline of Anaesthesia within the Sydney Medical School at the University of Sydney, and is staffed by approximately 60 consultants and 35 registrars.

The Department provides anaesthesia services for 16 operating theatres, a 13 bed birth unit, endoscopy, radiology, interventional neuroradiology, nuclear medicine, 3 cardiac catheter labs and the Westmead Centre for Oral Health.

Anaesthetic sub-specialties provided by the Department include:

  • Cardiothoracic (including transoesophageal echocardiography and perfusion)
  • Neurosurgical
  • Ear, nose, throat
  • Head and neck
  • Transplant
  • High risk obstetric
  • Trauma
  • Pain management (acute, chronic, cancer)

There is also good exposure to routine cases such as orthopaedics and general surgery.

An active teaching program is in place for both the ANZCA Primary and Final Fellowship examinations.

Medical students can choose to do their elective term, or honours project, within the Department.


03 Nov 2016: End of year case booking system now online (intranet only)

22 May 2016: Prospective trainees' information evening is on 26 July 2016.

10 May 2016: Click here to access intranet site when on hospital network

Disclaimer: This site is for educational use. It is not a substitute for professional medical advice. The opinions expressed here are those of the individual authors only and not of any associated institution or organisation.